October 2015

Student Awarded Most Prestigious Scholarship at Cal Poly Pomona


Kyra Yong was honored with the 2015 President’s Council Scholarship, the most prestigious scholarship series at Cal Poly Pomona. The President’s Council Scholarship was awarded to 20 undergraduate and four graduate students, who represent each of the university's colleges.


“The President’s Council Scholarship Program represents the finest of Cal Poly Pomona’s traditions,” says Cal Poly Pomona President Soraya M. Coley. “Scholarship recipients not only succeed in the classroom, they are committed to making society better.”


Yong plans to graduate with a bachelor’s degree in hospitality management and a minor in international business marketing in 2016. She aims at becoming a successful leader in the restaurant industry.


"This generous gift will aid in continuing my education to further my pursuits in the hospitality industry," Yong says.


As a student, Yong is a member of the Eta Sigma Delta honor society and serves as the president of the Restaurant and Foodservice Professionals club. Since 2012, she has earned inclusion in the dean’s and president’s honor list. She was selected to represent The Collins College at the 2015 National Restaurant Association Show in Chicago.


The Collins College’s President’s Council Scholarship was made in memory of Al Levie, who passed away in 1999. Levie brought his leadership and expertise along with a vast network of industry executives to the school in the ‘80s. The Al Levie Family Scholarship was established to match the President’s Council Scholarship in honor of high-achieving students in the hospitality management program.


"I am beyong grateful and humbled to be recognized as the President's Council Scholar this year; however, I would not have been able to achieve this without the help of The Collins College," Yong says. "I am forever thankful to the Al Levie Family for their generous donation to the college, the president's committee, and my family for their continuous support."


The President’s Council Scholarship program began in 1983 and 432 scholarships have been awarded to date.

Lea Dopson, Kyra Yong, President Soraya M. Coley
Kyra Yong
Kyra Yong